Navigating New Marketing Territory: It’s All In The Wrist

Technology is all around us.  The interesting thing is that we all choose to use technology in different ways and for various reasons.  Who would have thought that something as simple as a watch around our wrist could allow us to check emails, communicate with friends and family, and even browse the internet? There is no doubt that smart devices are entering our society at an amazing speed and are changing the way in which marketers choose to expand their brand opportunities.  The key for any marketer is understanding consumer behaviors and the “why” behind each consumer decision to purchase, or not to purchase, some of these amazing wearable smart devices.   

Take Courtney, for example.  She is a 27-year-old assistant manager who felt compelled to purchase the wearable Apple Watch.  When asked as to what her initial decision was when purchasing this device, the simple response was, “Well, I decided I was getting to that age where I wanted to try to take better physical care of myself, so I had a step-tracker on my smartphone, but when I began my current position as assistant manager, I was no longer allowed to have my phone on me while at work.  My job consisted of a lot of running around, and sometimes I just honestly needed to have access to my work email at any moment throughout the day.  So, these factors really contributed to my actual need for an Apple Watch.  Plus, a lot of my friends had them and it just seemed like “the next” thing that was arising in the age of communication.”  

Consumers like Courtney are not alone in these purchase decisions.  Purchase intentions regarding health and fitness are most impacted by wearable smart devices.  This desire for an aid in health and wellness is largely contributed to the idea of the Quantified Self.  According to an article by Live Science, the quantified self refers to the increasing use of technology to collect data about oneself.  These technologies — such as smartphone apps, GPS devices, and physical activity trackers with accelerometers — allow individuals to track all aspects of their daily lives, including their total activity, number of steps, food they eat, amount of sleep, heart rate, and mood. The quantified self essentially becomes the increased use of collecting data about ourselves with goal of self-improvement.   

Millennials are twice as likely to own and use wearable tech than adults 35 years and older, and they are also more willing to adopt tech devices earlier than older generations. 

imFORZA

But as described in Courtney’s purchase reasoning, self-improvement was not the only reason given.  Aside from reaching one’s goals, an aspect tying into social acceptance and trends was also given.  Just as we observe trends of everyone rushing for the latest versions of iPhone, new technological trends also have their ability to sway groups of people who share common interests.  However, these wearable devices are also going beyond the simple point of simply being trends.  These devices are now designed to be fashionable.  Apple Watches specifically are widely considered to be a “luxury” wearable device.  According to reports from Allied Market Research, concerning Apple’s smartphone industry, growth, it was stated that Apple shipped 31 million units of its smartwatches in 2019, which is expected to be 50% more than the entire Swiss wrist watch industry; and the shipment of apple smartwatches has increased 36% since 2018.

When Courtney was asked what she would change or did not like about the Apple Watch, she responded with the following, “I honestly do find the Apple Watch very helpful, however, at times, a little too helpful.  The watch has various purposes depending on what time of day it is.  Like I said, I initially got the watch to help track my fitness goals and sleep habits, but then when I’m at work, I need to count my steps, but to also inform me the minute important emails come through.  Having the watch has significantly sped up communication because it is always there.  Which is great! But it’s truly only great while I’m at work.  When I’m home and trying to get out of work-mode, I am still receiving all my work emails throughout the night and days off.”  

This idea of blurred lines between work and personal life through the use of smart devices is a topic that has continued to arise as digital tools advance.  Trying to balance these two areas can be tricky with the advanced technology that smartwatches bring, and those who experience it will have to clear these lines through trial and error by changing settings while navigating home and work life. 

What marketers can take away from consumer purchases of wearable devices may range from having additional importance on the large and engaging prereaders of emails that come through to consumers, or how often we are sending brand notifications and how it may infringe on consumers’ personal activity and privacy.  As more consumers switch to these wearable smart devices, marketers will gain increased knowledge of how to bridge the gap of desktop and smartphone to technology of the future.  

Resources: 

Quantified Self – Lifelogging – What Is Quantified Self? | Live Science  

Smartwatch Market Size, Share & Industry Growth | Analysis – 2027 (alliedmarketresearch.com) 

Wearable Technology and Its Impact on Internet Marketing | imFORZA  

Technology’s impact on our lives.: The new wave of wearable technology (chopra-m.blogspot.com) 

Published by Brittany R.

Experienced community outreach worker with a demonstrated history of working in the education and social work industry. Skilled in Professional Communication, Conflict Resolution, Organization Skills, and Persuasive Writing. I am also a strong research professional with a Bachelor of Science - BS focused in Anthropology and Women & Gender Studies from University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, and am currently on a path to further my education through the Marketing Program at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College.

2 thoughts on “Navigating New Marketing Territory: It’s All In The Wrist

  1. Hi Brittany.
    I love that you talked about the Apple Watch and talked about Courtney and what she thought about the Apple Watch. This was a great read!

    Like

  2. This was a great perspective into the purchase and use of wearable technology. The want and need to now be constantly connected these days is growing. I too have an Apple Watch and i love it, but I find myself in the same camp as Courtney, it’s very hard to disconnect from the technology – wouldn’t it be great if it had a “work mode” and a “home mode” that way you can leave work at work…

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started