Walmart vs Amazon: App Showdown

To me, Amazon is so much easier to navigate than the Walmart app. That could be because I have been using the Amazon app more, or it could simply be because of the layout and the way I go through the apps. When I had talked to my family, most of them said that they prefer the Amazon app because it is easier to navigate.

“Amazon heads the ranking of the most popular shopping apps in the United States with 150.6 million mobile users accessing the Amazon app in September 2019.” (Published by L. Ceci & 6, 2021). Reading this statistic, I am not surprised. Most people do use Amazon and have been using the Amazon app. With the Amazon app, there is so much more offered than just online shopping. If a customer purchases Amazon Prime, they can access e-books, movies, and even games. This amazes me so much. From an online shopping app, it turns into a whole new app. Who knew that an online shopping app could suddenly turn into me watching a movie or reading an interesting e-book? Amazon even offers a student prime membership. With this, I find it so awesome. I have Amazon prime as a student, and I read books, watch a movie if I need to watch it for school, and if I need something that I will need to help me study, I can order it with Prime and it gets shipped to my apartment in a matter of a couple of days!

“With so many retail locations, Walmart gets goods to more customers faster.” (Allen, 2021)

I have not used the Walmart App as much as Amazon, but I occasionally take a look at it or buy things when I know I will get it shipped in a couple of days or I could pick it up at my local Walmart store. One thing that I do not like about the Walmart app, is that right when I open it up, there is too much going on. I understand that there are a lot of products and they want to sell them, but frankly, I get overwhelmed when there is a lot going on on the homepage. One thing that I do like about the Walmart app, is that you can do grocery shopping on your mobile phone. My mom and my mother-in-law both use this app because they are just too busy to go grocery shopping. All you have to do is browse the app, find what you want for groceries, put it in your cart and purchase the items. It will then prompt you to pick a time to when you would like to pick up your groceries. When people are busy, this feature is great. It also creates job opportunities for people. When I go to my local Walmart, I always see workers picking (shopping) for the mobile app contactless pickup. The Walmart app does have benefits that do help a lot of people.

There are negative and positive things to each app. Some people like one more than the other. Although that happens, they are both trying to help the community by being safe and quick. Amazon may be the top app, but Walmart has other things to offer that Amazon does not. Vice versa for Walmart. Walmart is great for grocery shopping, but Amazon has more options for online shopping for materials and fun objects. Each app is just trying to support and appreciate their customers easier on mobile devices.

Allen, M. (2021, November 8). Amazon vs. walmart: Here’s what to know. Taste of Home. Retrieved November 15, 2021, from https://www.tasteofhome.com/article/amazon-vs-walmart/.

Published by L. Ceci, & 6, J. (2021, July 6). Top U.S. shopping apps by users 2019. Statista. Retrieved November 15, 2021, from https://www.statista.com/statistics/579718/most-popular-us-shopping-apps-ranked-by-audience/ .

Published by courtneymanderson16

Hello! My name is Courtney. I am 19 years old. I am studying digital marketing! Fun fact about me, is that I race cars! I have raced for 4 years now!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started